Philip Deer

Instructional Designer | Instructional Developer
Hi Everyone! I'm an Instructional Designer and Developer. I love to exercise, hike, play video games, find new great restaurants, eat ice cream, and play with my kids.

Designing for No Sound

Hi Team!

One of the brands I design for does not have audio on its in-store computers. How do you balance how much text to have on-screen versus using captions? I'm wondering if having more text on the screen in a case like this (computers with no audio) might be better than relying mostly on captions.

Thanks in advance!
Like Comment

Training Request Form Challenges

Hi Team!

I created my first training request form. I looked at some examples online from various sources and put one together. As I have started to use it, I noticed that some questions are not getting the results I had hoped. Particularly, I get not so helpful responses on the questions regarding:
  • outcome competencies (per Bloom's taxonomy) - they usually select too many competencies
  • desired format of the material - they typically don't know what they want, so they just say eLearning and Job Aid 
  • measuring effectiveness - they typically have trouble articulating what they want and thus need to track via the form
  • stakeholders and contributors - they tend to leave out key stakeholders and mention them later on

I always follow the request with a call to gain clarity and set expectations. However, I feel the calls could be more productive if the request form was better. I will definitely keep working on making it better, and wanted to reach out here since you all tend to have very helpful insights.

Do you use a training request form? If so, what have you found to be most helpful to ask to discover what you need to know? Also, what have you found least helpful to ask?

Thanks in advance!
Like Comment

Imposter Syndrome Struggle

Hi Team!